​I dread working with my boss. It’s seldom that it happens but when it does…I just don’t know what to say to him. He is a 76 year old child that frequently throws temper tantrums. I have had similar displeasures in my life, I don’t know how to relate to people who have such negative outlooks on life. If you haven’t had the pleasure of being around someone like him then you should consider yourself lucky. 

We had menial chores to do, stuff I can do by myself. However he needs to feel like he’s useful, I try to be generous of spirit but it’s hard to be when the man tells me how miserable he is and how much he wants to sell his farm, etc . How do you be the best version of yourself and try to do your best for an employer when they don’t want to be a part of their own place. 

We were working on our chores when he says to me “They won’t let you build on your property with the power lines so close.” How do you respond to that? It’s a minimum of one of those type of comments a day we work together. I am a mediator by nature so arguing with someone is already a challenge. I have the data the back up my point, I know the facts but this guy is never wrong. I brush it off, it’s not worth the argument I tell myself. 

Leave a Reply

